Though, Peter Jackson had initially said we wouldn’t be seeing a preview for The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies until October, it looks like he lied. Maybe it was all the other news coming from SDCC, but we finally have our first footage from the film. It’s the bittersweet ending of six great films and it looks like he’ll be going out on a high note with what we’re seeing from the trailer below. Check it out!

Here’s information on how you can win a chance to watch the film in New Zealand with Peter Jackson. Check out the Hobbit Fan Contest for more info!

Here’s the official synopsis for The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies:

[box_light]“The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies” brings to an epic conclusion the adventures of Bilbo Baggins, Thorin Oakenshield and the Company of Dwarves. Having reclaimed their homeland from the Dragon Smaug, the Company has unwittingly unleashed a deadly force into the world. Enraged, Smaug rains his fiery wrath down upon the defenseless men, women and children of Lake-town. Obsessed above all else with his reclaimed treasure, Thorin sacrifices friendship and honor to hoard it as Bilbo’s frantic attempts to make him see reason drive the Hobbit towards a desperate and dangerous choice. But there are even greater dangers ahead. Unseen by any but the Wizard Gandalf, the great enemy Sauron has sent forth legions of Orcs in a stealth attack upon the Lonely Mountain. As darkness converges on their escalating conflict, the races of Dwarves, Elves and Men must decide – unite or be destroyed. Bilbo finds himself fighting for his life and the lives of his friends in the epic Battle of the Five Armies, as the future of Middle-earth hangs in the balance.[/box_light]

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies is due out December 17th. The film stars: Martin Freeman, Ian McKellan, Richard Armitage, Orlando Bloom, Evangeline Lilly, John Bell, Jed Brophy, Adam Brown, John Callen, Benedict Cumberbatch, Stephen Fry, Ryan Gage, Mark Hadlow, Peter Hambleton, Stephen Hunter, William Kircher, Graham McTavish, Michael Mizrahi, James Nesbitt, Dean O’Gorman, Lee Pace, Mikael Persbrandt, Ken Stott, and Aidan Turner.